Rose painted porch

We awoke to a cold, clear, and sunny morning. I moved at a slow pace, not fully awake, but with a wee child running beside me who obviously does mornings better than I do. The cat wanted some space and nagged me to follow her to the door. I shuffled over the kitchen floor towards the door. Opened the door, child still in tow, entered the small hallway, unlocked the door and opened it for the cat. Skeptical as she is I had to wait a wee while before she ventured outside. And as I stood there, my eyes almost shut, the sun reflected off something on the floorboards in front of me.

Magical fairies had rose painted them during the night…

I ran to get the camera and told Son that breakfast would have to wait a few minutes.

10 thoughts on “Rose painted porch

    • It’s a result of some kind of crystallisation of the ice on the wood, exactly how it happens I can’t tell you. One of the small and amazing wonders of the world πŸ™‚

    • How do they do that? Even if I wake him up in the morning he’s standing up, a big grin on his face shouting “good morning mummy!”. I take a few hours (and preferably a cup of tea) before can do anything but grunt…

Leave a Reply

