Pineapple-coconut summer smoothie-milkshake

We had a few days of perfect summer weather last month. Temperatures above 20 C, blue sky, burning sun, bare, white legs and arms,  and sunburned noses. The children loved it, especially our daughter who was allowed to play in the garden all by herself for the first time. The door to the kitchen was open so I could hear her at all times and she could run in and out as she wanted, euphoria for a toddler. Those days have now passed, but only for now. We need some proper spring days before we can take on the proper summer.

IMG_0108

I thought of a pineapple drink that Husband and I used to make some years ago. I couldn’t find the recipe for it during those warm days, but I knew it called for frozen pineapple, so after a Friday taco-dinner I froze the leftover pineapple, to have it ready for the next warm day.

I had a rough day today. I feel the stress of the exams and everything getting to me. And I needed to cheer myself up. This drink, a mix between a milkshake and a smoothie, is summer in a glass and exactly what I needed. I found the recipe without having to tare the house down. A few minutes later I had more than half a litre of sunshine. The children tried it for the first time, Son was particularly suspicious to what he was served, but he downed two glasses. Daughter walked around with her smoothie cup, singing and talking in a perfectly happy mood, but gave out a shrilling scream if anyone came near her cup. A perfect afternoon energy boost.

IMG_0107

Also, if drunk properly, it’ll give you a moustache.

  • 4 dl of pineapple juice
  • 1 dl coconut milk (with plenty of the good coconut fat for the kids)
  • 2,5 dl of frozen pineapple
  • 2 small scoops of vanilla ice-cream (or frozen yoghurt)

Mix well in a blender and enjoy the summer!

4 thoughts on “Pineapple-coconut summer smoothie-milkshake

    • She is a strong-willed little girl and her food is what’s most sacred to her. She’s much like a dog when she’s eating (both the mess and the possessive attitude)

Leave a Reply

