The end of the endless summer of 2014

IMG_2507

The summer of 2014 has been long and wonderful. It has been so long, warm and delightful that it has felt a little unnatural. I’v caught myself wondering what could be wrong with this world and realized quickly that I don’t want to know. I have enjoyed the sun, the warmth, the long bright days and the precious time with my family. But lately I have been expecting autumn. Almost waiting for it. I don’t mind having summer, but it was as if my body was expecting something else: warmer clothes, quiet dark evenings, crispy brisk air, and a new colour palette. Autumn arrived two weeks ago.

Well, autumn arrived, and then left again. But every time it left it left a little more of itself. First came the cold mornings, then the colours, and then the crispy air. We had a few days of autumn last week, which left us with dark, cold mornings. Now all we’re missing is the unpredictable weather.

It’s been an easy transition this year. Normally I don’t like the transitional phases of the seasons, I wear the heavy coat on warm days, or I wear too little on the cold, I forget my raincoat when it pours, or I carry my umbrella around in the sun. This year there’s nothing to complain about.

The last evening I’ve spent surrounded by candles. I’ve drunk large cups of tea and I’ve been sporting a proper cold. Autumn is here, and I like it. 

2 thoughts on “The end of the endless summer of 2014

  1. Get better soon! A strange autumn indeed! We are still having quite warm days – 17 degrees C today – but cool nights and lots of mist and fog. Our summer in Eastern England was cooler and damper than usual though people in Scotland had a summer like yours I hear. I love your photograph of autumn colours on a ‘cotoneaster’ – beautiful!

    • Thank you! It’s one of those colds that linger due to long, hectic days and shifting temperatures. But it’ll be over before I know it. The photo was captured last autumn. I could not past that bush without taking a picture. It had all those beautiful autumnal colors.

Leave a Reply

