Summer’s over

I’ve surrendered. Surrendered to autumn, dark skies, short days, everyday life, work, kindergarten – and most importantly large cups of tea, woolen blankets, candles, books and snuggling inside while the rain is hammering on the window. I now sit with a lit candle, a big cup of green tea with honey, and a few small late-summer flowers my parents picked while out walking with Son.

The temperature has given up, or I have lost hope in a sudden return of tropical heat and long summer nights. I am now officially ready for autumn. I caught myself looking at my winter shoes here the other day, thinking long and hard about whether I would pull it off wearing them to work, or if I would then diminish the hope of those of my colleagues who still hope for more summer days. My raincoat is ready and I sometimes long for my scarf and winter jacket.

I realise that it is only a few days since I walked the forests, a warm summer day, where I missed my bikini and longed for a proper swim in the river. I guess that was what I needed to let go of summer and be satisfied with the experiences I’ve had for the summer of 2011. I haven’t had a swim outside though, which I must have before completely letting go. It’s not very tempting, but it must be done…

6 thoughts on “Summer’s over

  1. nei, nei, nei, sommaren e ikkje øve ennå:) Har jo vært sommar nå i et par dager, og august pleie som regel alltid ver fin! Eg satse fortsatt på å drøya sommaren litt lengre;)

    • Kikke ut vinduet nå, og syns det ser litt høst ut, men temperaturen har nå vert bra 🙂 Godt du holde på sommaren litt te 🙂

    • I rarely think of autumn this earlier either, but now work starts again, Son starts kindergarten, and, well, the weather hasn’t been all that much (and due to the ironic weather gods of the area they might see me welcoming autumn and bring on summer just to taunt me 😉 )

Leave a comment